Aparna Sen Indian famous actress and director born on 25th October.

Aparna_Sen_-_Kolkata_2014-01-31_8137Aparna Sen is an Indian filmmaker, screenwriter and actress who is known for her work in Bengali Cinema. A leading actress of late 1960s,1970s,1980s. She has received eight ” BFJA Award”,five for best actress,two for best supporting actress and one for lifetime achievement award. She is the winner of three National Film Award and nine international film festival awards for her direction in films. She was awarded the “Padma Shri”, the fourth highest civilian award,by the government of India in 1987.

Sen made her debut in Teen Kanya (1961) and received her success with Aparichito (1961). She went on to established herself as a leading actress of Bengali Cinema with the filmsAranyer Din Ratri (1970), Ekhane Pinjar (1971), Jay Jayanti (1971), Memshaheb(1972),Jiban Saikate (1972), Basanta Bilap (1973), Sonar Khancha (1973),Sujata(1974),Alor Thikana (1974),Kajallata (1975),Raag Anuraag(1975),Jana Aranya(1976),Ajasra Dhanyobad (1977),Proxy(1977),Mohonar Dike(1984),Ekanto Apon(1987),Swet Patharer Thala(1992). She also garnered critical acclaim for her work in Indira(1984), Kari Diye Kinlam(1989),Ek Din Achanak(1999),Mahaprithibi(1991),Unishe April(1995),Paromitar Ekdin(2000),Titli(2001),Antaheen (2009),Chatushkon(2014).

In addition to acting in films, sen also has been directing films since 1981 with 36 Chowringhee Lane for which she won National Film Award(India)for Best Director. She went on to achieve further more success in direction with films Parama,Sati,Yugant,Paromitar Ek Din,Mr and Mrs Iyer,15 Park Avenue,The Japanese Wife,Iti Mrinalini,Goynar Baksho.She won her second National Film Award as a director for Mr. and Mrs. Iyer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *